Since I’ve enjoyed blogging my Tuesdays with Dorie adventures I’ve decided to join another blogging book that focus more on cooking and less on baking. I’m always looking for new recipes to increase my dinner repertoire so i was excited to find this new group!  Visit the home page for the group here:  Barefood Bloggers.

This weeks recipe is called Pasta, Pesto & Peas. Aaron and I both really like pesto, so I was excited to try out the recipe. I was a little hesitant about adding the peas, I considered leaving them out, but I am so glad that I stopped at Trader Joe’s to pick some up! They added a nice sweetness and texture to the salad. 

As other bloggers had mentioned, the Pesto recipe that Ina gives is out of this world! the addition of the spinach really brings something special to the pesto and it makes the pesto a little thicker to cover the pasta.  I was able to use the basil we have been growing in our little container garden, which really made a difference in the vibrant color of the pesto. Yum! I also subbed whole wheat fusilli. 

I will definitely be making this again! (probably soon!)

 

Ingredients

Basil!!

Pinenuts & Garlic

Pesto — mmmmm

Mix me up!!

Yummmmy!

